Featured Image

Abbey Road One: Sparkling Woodwinds

The Iconic Sound of Cinema

Create magical, lyrical woodwind lines with this brilliant set of performances captured in Abbey Road’s iconic Studio One. This self-contained, stand-alone library will add that unmistakable Abbey Road magic to your compositions. It also makes the perfect accompaniment to Abbey Road One: Orchestral Foundations.

This stunningly orchestrated woodwind section, performed by London's leading session players, lets you create everything from beautiful, reflective passages to sprightly runs using our new, easy-to-use legato patches. This new selection includes the classic movie pairing of woodwinds and glockenspiel, adding energy and intrigue to your score and allowing you to lose yourself in the magical world of woodwinds. And with our new methods for capturing these legato performances, the virtual instruments are vital and alive.

You can also purchase this as part of Abbey Road One: The Collection and save 30%.

Mouse On The Run - Paul Thomson (feat. Other Libraries) (0:00 / 1:01)

The Faintest Glint - Homay Schmitz (feat. AR Foundations) (0:00 / 2:10)

Power Game - Oliver Patrice Weder (feat. AR Foundations & Legendary Low Strings) (0:00 / 1:49)

Crescent - Tess Tyler (feat. AR Foundations & Legendary Low Strings) (0:00 / 2:04)

Operation Sword Dance - S Hallgrímsson (feat. AR Foundations, Legendary Low Strings & BBCSO Pro) (0:00 / 2:21)

Admit One - Shruti Kumar (feat. AR Foundations, Sparkling Woodwinds & Originals Felt Piano) (0:00 / 1:23)

Red Wolf - Segun Akinola (feat. AR Selections) (0:00 / 1:25)


Product Info

  • 6.4 GB download size Too large to download? Choose hard drive delivery at checkout.
  • 6.40 GB disk space required during install
  • Mac system requirements Mac OS X 10.10 to OS X 11 Minimum: 2.8GHz i5 minimum (quad-core), 8GB RAM. Recommended: 2.8GHz i7 (six-core), 16GB RAM. Intel and M1 Apple computers, 64 bit DAW required (32 bit DAWs not supported). Machine must be connected to the internet during install
  • PC system requirements Windows 7, Windows 8, or Windows 10 (latest Service Pack, 64-bit) Minimum: Intel 2.8 GHz i5 (quad-core) or AMD Ryzen 5. Recommended: Intel 2.8 GHz i7 (six-core) or AMD R7 2700. Machine must be connected to the internet during install.
  • Dedicated Plugin
  • User manual
  • Apply for educational discount

Buy in a collection and save

The Iconic Sound of Cinema

Enter the room most composers can only dream of: Abbey Road’s Studio One. Considered one of the finest acoustical spaces in the world, Studio One’s history has an indelible connection with the scores recorded there, providing emotion, mood, and magic for many of the most renowned and successful films ever made. Such classics as Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, and Avengers: Endgame — all were recorded in Studio One. With its rich tonality, deep low end, and famed reverb, Studio One’s sound is widescreen and epic. Truly, it is the iconic sound of cinema.

At Spitfire Audio, our approach is to always record sample libraries in the same way that film scores are recorded, and Sparkling Woodwinds is no exception. This library, and indeed all of the Abbey Road One Selections, puts the same first-call musicians that play on globally-successful movies at your fingertips, all recorded by multi GRAMMY® Award-winning engineer Simon Rhodes (Avatar, Hugo, Harry Potter) and featuring the legendary Abbey Road microphones and outboard gear.

Building On Orchestral Foundations

Expanding on Abbey Road One: Orchestral Foundations, a 90-piece symphonic orchestra that was our first partnership with Abbey Road Studios, Sparkling Woodwinds is a fully-fledged, stand-alone library. Recorded the same way your favourite composer would – the unmistakable acoustics of Abbey Road Studio One, exceptional players, award-winning sound engineers and priceless microphones, all allowing you to quickly and easily create film scores. Level up your existing symphonic orchestra toolkit or pair with Orchestral Foundations to get the classic cinematic woodwind sound.

With a beautiful, modern design, Sparkling Woodwinds and indeed all of the Abbey Road One Selections are housed in our award-winning plug-in, which loads directly into all major DAWs (VST2, VST3, AU & AAX) without the need for any additional software. Easy to use, intuitive and inspiring, our plug-in has been designed by composers, for composers.

“Amongst the best I've heard over the last 20 years."

Sound On Sound

"We are thrilled to be partnering with the innovative and creative minds at Spitfire Audio. The finest musicians, beautiful acoustics, award-winning sound engineers and cutting edge technology, mixed with rare vintage treasures.”

– Mirek Stiles, Head of Audio Products, Abbey Road Studios

Product Reviews

What's included


  • Sparkling Legato (8ve)
  • Long (8ve)
  • Staccato (8ve)


  • Mix 1
  • Mix 2


  • Vintage 1
  • Vintage 2
  • Pop Close
  • Pop Room
  • Close
  • Tree 1
  • Tree 2
  • Ambient
  • Outriggers
  • Spill

You can buy now, and download anytime