Featured Image


The Emotional Ensemble

From the mind of acclaimed artist Keaton Henson comes a compositional toolkit of unique, modern scoring sounds, created to enhance your sonic fingerprint with a beautiful human touch.

Heirloom features delicate strings, woodwinds, an inspiring piano and guitars captured in London’s stunning Church Studios (Adele, The XX. Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds). Inherently contemporary and perfect for emotive writing, this sound library is the audial equivalent of the worn away seat of your father’s favourite chair. Traces, marks and imprints left behind by those who are perhaps no longer with us. Gone, but never forgotten.

Moth holes - Lucie Treacher (0:00 / 1:50)

Winter Fig Tree - Oliver Patrice Weder (0:00 / 1:45)

4th - Charlotte Harding (0:00 / 1:22)

The Waiting Window - Keaton Henson (0:00 / 1:49)

Returning Home - Dan Keen (0:00 / 2:00)

Hymn VIII - Charlotte Harding (0:00 / 2:20)

Trailer Music - Keaton Henson & Homay Schmitz (0:00 / 1:30)


Product Info

  • 34.2 GB download size Too large to download? Choose hard drive delivery at checkout.
  • 34.18 GB disk space required during install
  • Mac system requirements Mac OS X 10.13 to OS X 12 Minimum: 2.8GHz i5 (quad-core), 8GB RAM Recommended: 2.8GHz i7 (six-core), 16GB RAM - Intel and M1 Macs supported 64-bit DAW Required (32 bit DAWs not supported)
  • PC system requirements Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows 10 and Windows 11 (latest Service Pack, 64-bit) Minimum: Intel Core 2.8GHz i5 (quad-core) or AMD Ryzen 5, 8GB RAM Recommended: Intel 2.8GHzi7 (six-core) or AMD R7 2700, 16GB RAM - 64-bit DAW required (32-bit DAWs not supported).
  • Dedicated Plugin
  • User manual
  • Apply for educational discount

Heirloom is perfectly poised to express emotions that are hard to put into words, capturing the contemplation of complex existential feelings, the human condition and the passing of time.

The quality of the performances captured is pure and expansive in character, lending themselves to enhanced emotive scoring. This expansive character provides endless inspiration, via sounds that will slot into any composer’s signature sound palette and compliment without taking over.

Heirloom has a strong sense of home comforts, with a beguiling familiarity that allows the composer to feel comfortable using the sounds in a stripped back setting. Beautiful raw woodwinds, delicate strings, an inspiring piano, rich guitar tones and textures - these were all selected by Keaton Henson to hone in on that humanity, the subtle artefacts of these kinds of recordings.

For more information about the instruments in this library, watch Homay Schmitz's Walkthrough of Heirloom or see "What's Included" at the bottom of this page.

The unique beauty of this library can be found in its imperfections. It is between the notes that you will feel those human moments that stop you in your tracks. The natural sounds of the players and their instruments captured during a performance.

Capturing new and alternative expressive techniques creates a great foundation for this sound library, but Spitfire Audio have also expertly captured a selection of small, exquisitely performed moments that can be found in the studio section, including swells and “chimes” (chime-like tones). These focused elements will make compositions sound even more real, and even more human.

Heirloom features 8 string players (3 violins, 2 viola, 2 cello, 1 bass), woodwind including a Contrabass Clarinet, and Tubax, an achingly beautiful Piano (the beating heart of the library), and Guitar. All intimately recorded by the highly talented Fiona Cruickshank at London’s atmospheric Church Studios.

All musicians know that recording studios are sacred spaces. The Church is quite literally so, a beautiful, old place of worship in north London, whose stone walls and stained glass have for 170 years reverberated with the sound of prayers and some of the greatest music ever made. To record at Church Studios today is to play a part in music history that has included Adele, Bob Dylan, Radiohead, Florence + the Machine and Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds.

Now Keaton Henson (Supernova, Six Lethargies, as well as 7 acclaimed solo albums) continues that lineage by acting as a medium between the decades of musicality shared there and Spitfire Audio — shaped through his own artistic lens and reverence for the beauty in imperfections.

“The piano and guitar are both immensely enjoyable to play, with some of the later’s tones being quite mesmerising. Heirloom is a lovely collection with which you can easily create soft and realistic[...]fully formed pieces.”

Product Reviews

What's included



  • This piano has the perfect amount of character, like an old but loved and well looked after piano that sits at a relatives house that you can’t help but play every time you walk past. It is inspiring to play and unbelievably real.

  • Piano Pedal Up
  • Piano Pedal Down


  • ( Kept small and recorded close and never playing too loud, so that you can achieve an emotionally epic sound, but never lose the intimacy of the playing.

  • Legato
  • Long
  • Long Flautando
  • Long Viol
  • Brushed
  • Short Rounded
  • Chimes


  • The sounds range from a really authentic sounding picked guitar, to some more complex techniques which have created some rich and haunting pads and swells, all performed by Keaton on his trademark telecaster and re-amped inside the beautiful Church Studios.

  • Swells
  • Shimmers
  • Harmonics
  • Plucked Bends
  • Plucks

Contrabass Clarinet

  • An achingly soft and beautiful contrabass, with the perfect amount of breath without losing the tone. a perfect deep bed to build from, or soft section to play rumbling chords.

  • Long
  • Stab
  • Air


  • An incredibly warm, smokey and characterful Tubax, contrabass in register, but with the tones and warmth of a saxophone) the subtle breaths captured, the soft shifts in tone, and at the louder dynamic- guttural growls and snarling drones.

  • Long
  • Stab
  • Air

Mics & Mixes


  • Mix1
  • Tape
  • Close
  • Mid
  • Far
  • Ribbon
  • Listener
  • Player
  • Pedal

You can buy now, and download anytime