RESONATE — Introductory Offer Ends TonightRESONATE — Introductory Offer Ends Tonight

Alex Epton - Entropy


Made in collaboration with XL Recordings’ in-house producer-turned-composer Alex Epton (FKA Twigs, Björk, Arca), these post-industrial soundscapes offer a deep dive into the raw, chaotic nature of feedback. Discover an inspiring spectrum of disorienting sounds that create both dramatic impact and eerie beauty — sweeping synths, pulsing bass drones, multilayered sound design textures and distorted percussive elements which evolve, unravel or detune as you play, instantly sparking new ideas.

The New York-based engineer, producer & remixer is a highly skilled beat-maker and sound sculptor, whose hybrid sound is exemplified in his acclaimed soundtrack, created with Lucinda Chua, for documentary film 3OHA, out now on SA Recordings. Inspired by the experimental techniques of musique concrète, Entropy was made from a unique combination of modular synthesis, granular synthesis, found sounds fed through self-built gear and pedals, and IR reverbs.

Spitfire Audio & Alex Epton are contributing 12.5% of ongoing library sales to AFRORACK, a Chicago-based audio arts organization dedicated to providing modular synthesis education for African American youth.

Really Bad Things Marching Into Town — Alex Epton (0:00 / 1:49)

Isohyet - Mark Summerell (0:00 / 3:28)

Big Engine - Leo Wyatt (0:00 / 1:51)

Caution — Toby Gale (ft. Spitfire Symphonic Strings) (0:00 / 3:02)

Trailer Music — Mark Summerell (0:00 / 0:44)

Basinski And Tchaikovsky On The Couch — Alex Epton (0:00 / 1:54)


Product Info

  • ~717 Samples
  • 0.8 GB download size Too large to download? Choose hard drive delivery at checkout.
  • 0.80 GB disk space required during install
  • Mac system requirements Mac OS X 10.10 to OS X 10.15 Minimum: 2.8GHz i5 minimum (quad-core), 8GB RAM. Recommended: 2.8GHz I7 (six-core), 16GB RAM. Intel-based Apple computers only - Apple Silicon/ARM not yet supported. Machine must be connected to the internet during install
  • PC system requirements Windows 7, Windows 8, or Windows 10 (latest Service Pack, 32/64-bit) Intel Core 2 Duo or AMD Athlon 64 X2
  • Dedicated Plugin
  • Apply for educational discount

“When we have to struggle with a set of limitations or reckon with a chaotic force, it leads us to engage our creativity in a more intense way."

— Alex Epton


In Entropy, Epton captures the intrinsically chaotic nature of modular synthesis and feedback, without taming it, allowing disparate elements to co-exist — from the apocalyptic to the playful. These unpredictable sounds largely sit outside the parameters of conventional harmony and rhythm – instantly sparking creativity and adding extra dimensions to any genre or setting.

Epton’s approach to sound design is heavily influenced by the pioneers of electronic music and their processes, including Suzanne Ciani, Morton Subotnick and the BBC Radiophonic Workshop. Embracing the opportunity for sonic experimentation, he created these sounds from a unique collection of synths and 'homebrew' gear at his custom-built XL Recordings studio in New York. This includes a Verbos modular system with varying levels of feedback, organic percussion and found sounds processed through his custom-built distortion unit, self-built pedals and outboard gear, a variety of granular mangling tools, and his own impulse-response reverbs — featuring a unique chamber reverb captured in a giant abandoned oil tank, found in the basement of his studio building.


— 29 presets

— Synthetic, Sound Design & Percussion

— Available in our award-winning, dedicated plug-in

— Reverb, Release, Delay, Chorus, Variation, Flanger, Phaser & Portamento controls

— Featuring Epton's custom-made spring, plate, hall and oil drum impulse-response reverbs

— Designed for creating impact, tension, horror and beauty, for any setting

— From contemporary electronic music to hybrid, modern film composition


Entropy follows the release of Alex Epton’s acclaimed score for 2019 documentary feature film, 3OHA, made in collaboration with Lucinda Chua and out now on SA Recordings. Our London-based record label is dedicated to supporting music created by contemporary composers and producers, releasing sample libraries in conjunction with an artist’s original music as an invitation to reimagine, recreate or completely pull apart their sound world to facilitate your own vision.

The 3OHA soundtrack is available to purchase via SA Recordings, either on its own, as a digital bundle (album download + sample library) or as a physical bundle (limited edition 12-inch vinyl + download + sample library).


“I wanted to create a sound environment that was elusive – that slips away when you try to examine it – almost like being in a fog.”

Alex Epton's multi-faceted music career began with an internship at cult dance music label DFA and took flight after he produced the influential debut album of Baltimore rapper Spank Rock, under the name XXXChange. Since joining XL in 2014, Epton has worked with a diverse range of artists including FKA twigs, Jamie xx, Arca, Willis Earl Beal, Vampire Weekend and Skepta, as well as creating specially commissioned remixes for The Kills, Kele Okereke, Björk, Charlotte Gainsbourg, Thom Yorke and TV on the Radio.

In addition to his work as a record producer, Epton has scored several commercials, short films and feature films. A classically-trained jazz musician, drummer and beatmaker, his recent score for Clayton Vomero’s documentary feature, 3OHA, fuses contemporary classical elements, abstract electronic themes and 3D sound design to create a raw, foreboding yet elegiac soundtrack. Shot on location in Russia and Ukraine, the majority of the music was written in pre-production and played throughout filming, forming the backdrop to a moving exploration of Russian youth culture in the extended aftermath of the Soviet Union's dissolution.

Product Reviews

What's included


  • Modular Long
  • Modular Short
  • Looping Bass Drone
  • Long Underpass
  • Drippy Steel Drum
  • Sub Bass
  • Distorted Sub Bass
  • Short Sub Bass
  • Modular Clean Drones
  • Modular Feedback
  • Modular Brassy Feedback
  • Florida Man (Major)
  • Florida Man (Minor)
  • Synth Slabs
  • Modular Slow Attack


    • Layered Textures 1
    • Layered Textures 2
    • Layered Textures 3
    • Paper Warped


    • Paper Snares
    • Ludwig Bass Drum
    • Effervesce
    • Distorted Drums
    • Distorted Paper Snares
    • Processed Bass Drums
    • Processed Bass Drums Tuned
    • Processed Percussion
    • Metallic Percussion 1
    • Metallic Percussion 2

    You can buy now, and download anytime