Abbey Road Orchestra: 1st Violins — Pre-order now!

Hainbach — Landfill Totems

One-of-a-kind electronics from a sonic innovator

  • Overview
  • Listen
  • Walkthrough
  • What's included
  • Tech specs
  • One-of-a-kind electronics from a sonic innovator

    Made in collaboration with Berlin-based composer, producer, and pioneer in experimental electronics, Hainbach, these one-of-a-kind, complex sounds have been expertly created from vintage test equipment collected from nuclear research labs and scrap heaps — given a new lease of life and transformed into instruments by the artist.

    Developed further and presented in our award-winning plug-in, discover eerie morse code bleeps, comms signals and flickering bass pulses; deep drones, ominous pads and grainy textural rhythms; industrial drum hits and loops; electromagnetic noise and heavenly humanoid ‘voices’. Create high-contrast atmospheres of suspense, tension and beauty, whether you’re writing techno, ambient music, or a cutting-edge film score. It’s a library you can really get lost in, and it’s a ton of fun.

    • Hard drive delivery available at checkout
    • You can buy now and download any time

    Our dedicated plugin

    Experimental electronic sounds

    40 presets

    Dedicated plugin

    Hainbach x Wasteaid

    Wasteaid Logo Black
    Spitfire Audio & Hainbach are contributing 12.5% of ongoing library sales to Waste Aid, a UK non-profit charity dedicated to sharing waste management and recycling skills around the world, fighting poverty, plastic pollution and climate change.

    Listen to Hainbach — Landfill Totems

    These machines made to send rockets to the moon, or to look at atoms, quickly assembled into something, they can live again, and sing a strange song they never did before.


    Living Machines

    Hainbach working machines

    The Landfill Totems project started life as a performance installation at PNDT Gallery, expanding exponentially into a full album and an accompanying sound library recorded at Patch Point Studios, Berlin. When observing these anthropomorphic figures, a deep appreciation and affection for the engineering technology of the past is apparent; totally unique vintage machines, assembled for one final swan song (one of the presets captures the sound of a machine dying). Stacked into three monolithic towers resembling totem poles, each piece of equipment was chosen for its distinctive tone generation and modulation abilities — wired together much like a modular synthesiser.

    Upcycled and redesigned, these totems act as a commentary on the environmental cost of progress; what was once the pinnacle of technology quickly becomes unviable and destined for the scrapheap, if not for the intervention of Hainbach — creating beauty from that which is thought to be obsolete. Among his collection are once high-end medical, telecommunication and scientific research equipment, vintage sound-testing devices, a Nuclear Instrumentation Modular, an outmoded medical signal generator, a mixer previously used by the Stasi, the state security service in former East Germany, and a Brüel & Kjaer 1613 Bandpass filter creating hi-hat, bass drum and watery sounds.

    Hainbach machines
    Hainbach GUI

    There’s something special about the sounds made from test equipment which I absolutely adore — making music out of these obsolete machines not designed for making music. Just press one note and you can hear a whole spectrum of emotion.


    The story image

    What's included



    • Distance
    • Blip
    • Tension
    • Third Place
    • Spacewalk
    • Noise & Beauty
    • Deep Space
    • Malfunctions
    • Penultimate Boss
    • Resonate
    • Conway's Game


    • Data Drone
    • Raw Beauty
    • Beauty Oscillator
    • Broken Oscillator Keys
    • Test Equipment Organ
    • Analog Motion
    • Machine Drift
    • Dark Motor Drones 1
    • Dark Motor Drones 2
    • Analog Shorts
    • Analog Bends


    • Bug Zapper
    • UFO
    • Heat-Ray
    • Flicker
    • Pocket Dialing
    • Water
    • Noise Machine
    • Circuit
    • Light Bloom
    • Doppelgänger


    • Drum Hits 1
    • Drum Hits 2
    • Drum Hits 3
    • Drum Loops 1
    • Drum Loops 2
    • Drums Hits & Loops
    • Motors
    • Machine


    • Expression
    • Dynamics (controlling Processed signal)
    • Attack
    • Release
    • Reverb
    • Delay
    • Stretch
    • Distort


    How do I add this library into Kontakt?

    You don’t! Landfill Totems is a dedicated, free to use plugin available as VST2, VST3, AAX and AU, so it can be used directly in your favourite DAW.

    What software will I need to install?

    You will only need the Spitfire Audio App which you can download here.

    Read more FAQs for this product

    Tech specs

    Mac system requirements

    Mac OSX 10.10 to OS 12

    Minimum: 2.8GHz i5 minimum (quad-core), 8GB RAM

    Recommended: 2.8GHz I7 (six-core), 16GB RAM

    32-bit DAWs not supported

    Machine must be connected to the internet during install

    PC system requirements

    Windows 7, Windows 8, or Windows 10 (latest Service Pack, 32/64-bit)

    Intel Core 2 Duo or AMD Athlon 64 X2

    32-bit DAWs not supported

    Machine must be connected to the internet during install

    File size

    0.8 GB download size

    Hainbach — Landfill Totems sounds great with…