Bridgerton Scoring Competition Ends Soon – Enter NowBridgerton Scoring Competition Ends Soon – Enter Now

Featured Image

Spitfire Solo Cello

Our most advanced cello performance instrument

Our highly advanced Total Performance Solo Cello is available to purchase as a separate Kontakt Player library. Beautifully performed by world-renowned concert cellist Richard Harwood, this is our most detailed and complete solo cello to date. It contains all the techniques you need to create an ultra-realistic solo performance, including five different types of true legato: fingered legato, bowed legato, portamento legato, runs and arpeggios, as well as spiccato, staccato, tremolo, playable trills, pizzicato, Bartok pizzicato, molto vibrato, progressive vibrato and non-vibrato. The patch enables you to create exquisite musical phrasing without the need for key-switching or 'stitching' together performances, and is programmed to react to playing speed and touch, allowing you to focus entirely on your composition. This instrument can now also be found in our renowned Spitfire Solo Strings library.

Featured Image

Birnam Wood — Andy Blaney (0:00 / 4:39)

Taiga — Paul Thomson (Solo Cello Total Performance & other libraries) (0:00 / 3:44)

When No One Is Looking — Homay Schmitz (0:00 / 0:47)

Solo Cello Total Performance — Paul Thomson (0:00 / 0:49)

Autumn Days — Oliver Patrice Weder (0:00 / 1:21)


Product Info

  • ~5797 Samples
  • 6.5 GB download size Too large to download? Choose hard drive delivery at checkout.
  • 7.00 GB disk space required during install
  • Mac system requirements Mac OS X 10.10 or later. Minimum: 2.8GHz i5 minimum (quad-core), 8GB RAM. Recommended: 2.8GHz I7 (six-core), 16GB RAM. Apple Silicon/ARM supported. Machine must be connected to the internet during install.
  • PC system requirements Windows: Windows 7, Windows 8, or Windows 10 (latest Service Pack, 64-bit) Minimum: Intel 2.8 GHz i5 (quad-core) or AMD Ryzen 5, 8GB RAM. Recommended: Intel 2.8 GHz i7 (six-core) or AMD R7 2700, 16GB RAM. Machine must be connected to the internet during install.
  • Kontakt version requirements Kontakt or Kontakt Player 5.6.8 or higher
  • Free Kontakt Player Included
  • User manual
  • Apply for educational discount


— Our most detailed and advanced solo cello performance patch to date

— Recorded at The Hall at AIR Studios

— Five different types of true legato

— Performed by world-renowned concert cellist, Richard Harwood

— Highly intuitive and easy to use — no keyswitching required

— Available as part of Spitfire Solo Strings or as a separate Kontakt Player library


The Overview Panel

This is the main interface for melodic instruments. Its default view displays all available playing techniques, has a simple microphone mixer and includes the main feature controllers.

Product Reviews

What's included

Solo Cello:

  • Fingered Legato
  • Bowed Legato
  • Portamento Legato
  • Runs
  • Arpeggios
  • Spiccato
  • Staccato
  • Tremolo
  • Trills
  • Pizzicato
  • Bartok pizzicato
  • Molto vibrato
  • Progressive vibrato
  • Non vibrato

Mics & Mixes


  • Close
  • Tree
  • Ambient

You can buy now, and download anytime